Back to top

Marijuana Minute April 6 2016: DEA Weighing Reclassification of Cannabis

bohan 2016-04-07 0 comments

The DEA considers reclassifying cannabis

The Drug Enforcement Administration is once again considering rescheduling marijuana. It’s currently classified as Schedule 1 along with methamphetamines and heroin. However, twice in the recent past the DEA has decided against rescheduling.

What are Schedule 1 Drugs?

The DEA defines Schedule 1 drugs as:

Schedule I drugs, substances, or chemicals are defined as drugs with no currently accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse. Schedule I drugs are the most dangerous drugs of all the drug schedules with potentially severe psychological or physical dependence.

Some examples of Schedule I drugs are:  heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), marijuana (cannabis), 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (ecstasy), methaqualone, and peyote

Schedule I drugs are considered the most dangerous class of drugs with a high potential for abuse and potentially severe psychological and/or physical dependence. Schedule 1 drugs have no medicinal value. Marijuana is classified as a schedule 1 drug even though there is numerous research studies on the benefits of marijuana as medicine.

As the drug schedule changes– Schedule II, Schedule III, etc., so does the abuse potential– Schedule V drugs represents the least potential for abuse. A Listing of drugs and their schedule are located at Controlled Substance Act (CSA) Scheduling or CSA Scheduling by Alphabetical Order.