Washington State Medical Marijuana Consultant Certification
$350.004.58 out of 5
As a dispensary owner, we understand that certification courses can be expensive. Therefore, for purchases of 2 or more, please call us at 844-411-0500 x813 and we can offer an additional discount for your purchase.
Washington state law requires all marijuana retail stores with a medical marijuana endorsement to have a certified Medical Marijuana Consultant on staff. The certification program for Washington consists of 20 hours of course work.
To be a Medical Marijuana Consultant, you must first take and pass a state Department of Health approved training program. Our program has been approved by the State of Washington Department of Health to administer the certification program.
This course is regularly updated to encompass the current legislative conditions (as of 8/2022).
Our approval number is: MM411 INC – TRNG.TG.60663011-MMJC.
- Section 1 – Washington state laws and regulations pertaining to marijuana
- Section 2 – Qualifying Conditions and Common Symptoms of Each
- Section 3 – Short and Long Term Positive and Negative Effects of Cannabinoids
- Section 4 – Products benefiting Patients based on Condition; Potential Contraindications
- Section 5 – Safe Handling of Marijuana Products Including Strategies to Reduce Access by minors
- Section 6 – Ethics and Customer Privacy Rights
- Section 7 – The Risks and Warning Signs of Overuse, Abuse and Addiction
Our team of medical marijuana professionals have developed a state-of-the-art eLearning program for cannabis education online. Our online courses are certified by Washington state and can be used as credits for Washington State Medical Marijuana Consultant Certification, along with the annual state-required Continuing Education courses to maintain certification.
Cannabis education online courses can also be purchased by anybody looking to expand their knowledge on a myriad of medicinal cannabis topics.
As we continue to expand our advanced cannabis education and learning management system, we are creating a “knowledge vault” where students can continually access new information. Additional modules are being developed to help the patient, the consultant and the independent learner gain a greater understanding of cannabis, cannabis related science, substance abuse, communication skills, professional ethics and ailments, as well as state-specific medical marijuana laws and policies.
The MM411 Inc. training program includes the Washington State required minimum 20 total instruction hours in the following subjects:
- Five hours – Washington state laws and rules relating to marijuana
- Five hours – Products that may benefit qualifying patients, based on the patient’s condition, any potential contraindications and the risks and benefits of various routes of administration
- Two hours – Qualifying conditions and the common symptoms
- Two hours – The short and long-term positive and negative effects of cannabinoids
- Two hours – Safe handling of marijuana products, including strategies to reduce access to minors
- Two hours – Ethics and customer privacy and rights
- Two hours – The risks and warning signs of overuse, abuse and addiction
- Instant access to all course materials
- Printable and downloadable infographics
- All research materials used for the online course
- Lifetime, unlimited access
- 24/7 access
- No time limits
- Start anytime
- Work on your own time and at your own pace
- Affordably priced
- Consultants will receive a renewal reminder notice from DOH six to eight weeks before the certification expires. Please keep in mind, this reminder service is a courtesy of DOH, not required for renewal.
- If you do not receive the notice within four weeks of your expiration date, please call 360-236-4700 or email customer service department.
- If you renew by mail, it will take about two weeks to update.
- If you deliver the payment in person (Tumwater Location), it will take about three to seven business days.
- Consultant certifications expire at midnight on their expiration date, which is the holder’s birthday.
- Consultants may renew their certification up to 90 days before it expires.
- To be clear, if a consultant’s certificate has not expired, they can simply click on the Medical Marijuana Consultant Renewal link under LICENSE RENEWALS to find out how to renew “with a renewal notice” or “without a renewal notice”.
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS (CE) (this is a link to the main CE website)
- The renewal notice should indicate the date the consultant will need to complete their continuing education for the following year.
- Example: The certificate may expire on 11/01/2016, but the consultant has until 11/01/2017 to complete the ten hours of continuing education (CE).
- Consultants must take 10 hours of continuing education (this link will take you to acceptable/not acceptable topics) every year. If you have questions about your continuing education, please call 360-236-4700 or email us for help.
- Please remember, continuing education hours will not be carried over from one reporting period to another. This is why it is important for consultants to pay attention to that date on their certificate.
- Also, up to 25 percent of certificate holders are randomly audited for continuing education compliance. Consultants should maintain records of continuing education completion for at least four years.
It is recommended that each person contact the department’s customer service at 360-236-4700 or by email at email@example.com to see if their credential is marked for CE requirement.
If they have their contact information current with the Department of Health, they should receive a courtesy renewal notice a couple months prior expiration that indicates whether or not CE is required for renewal.
You can also use the following link to search the database:
Washington state does not have reciprocity for patients. Only Washington residents can be entered into the database and receive a recognition card. Visitors can purchase recreationally and are limited to recreational amounts –chapter 69.51A RCW.
WAC 246-71-010 Definitions.
(14) “Valid photographic identification” means:
(a) A driver’s license or instruction permit issued by any state of the United States or province of Canada. If the patient’s driver’s license has expired, the patient must also show a valid temporary driver’s license with the expired card.
(b) A state identification card issued by any state of the United States or province of Canada.
(c) An official passport issued by any nation.
d) A United States armed forces identification card issued to active duty, reserve, and retired personnel and the personnel’s dependents.
(e) A merchant marine identification card issued by the United States Coast Guard.
(f) An enrollment card issued by the governing authority of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in Washington, if the enrollment card incorporates security features comparable to those implemented by the department of licensing for Washington drivers’ licenses.
A recognition card, whether current or expired, does not qualify as valid photographic identification.What else do I need to submit to Washington State to apply for my Medical Marijuana Certification? Here are the details provided directly by the state of Washington:
To help expedite the application process to get your certificate from the Washington Department of Health, or DOH, after completing your training program, please remember the following.
Medical marijuana certification applications submitted to the DOH must have:
- Proof of age (see the website for documents that are allowed)
- Proof of CPR Certification (send a copy of your certificate)
- Proof of completing a DOH Approved Consultant Training Program (send a copy of your certificate of completion)
- If applicants need to submit additional materials, they can email documents to firstname.lastname@example.org
- If consultants want to check the status of their application, please have them contact our customer service line at 360-236-4700 or they can check online at the department’s Application Status website at https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/ApplicationStatus
- In Person: Come to DOH in Person (Town Center 2 Directions)
- Or Mail in: See address on application
No, we do not offer a CPR course. Please be aware that with recent rules changes that were adopted on March 12, 2018 and go into effect on April 11, 2018 (WSR 18-07-030), online CPR courses are no longer accepted as part of the certification requirements. The CPR (cardio-pulmonary resuscitation) requirements now include written and “skills demonstration”.
The state application asks for the city and state where the class was taken. We are located in Redmond, Washington